“Tell us,” we say, “a story we know.”

Image

In just a little over ten hours I will board my flight to Guatemala!!!!  I will begin my journey by spending three months volunteering at the Centro de Abuelos (Elder’s Center) which is a project funded by an incredible non-profit organization, Sharing the Dream in Guatemala.  Speaking with the staff over the phone tonight filled me with a renewed joy and excitement to live in fellowship with Mayan elders in Santiago Atitlan.  As I learn to pat and pound 400 tortillas a day, make a mean cup of arroz con leche, and deliver meals around the city, I will laugh with and learn from remarkable women and men who have lost most of their families in the Guatemalan civil war. 

As I lay my head down on my pillow in United States for the last time before awaking with new eyes for new God-sized adventures abroad, I look down at a prayer my pastor wrote one of the last Sundays I was in Minneapolis.  Pastor Kae Evensen, one of two brilliant preachers at Mercy Seat Lutheran, spoke this prayer with such gentleness during the prayers of the people.  I have often gone back to this prayer as I have prepared for my year with the Graduate Preaching Fellowship.  I now leave you with the prayer that has guided me and will continue to shape my journey this next year:

“No matter how old this world grows, You never move beyond this unburdening, this love given to us, making each of us a new creation.  You, who were cut close to the root, bear us, each day, perennial, a new moon, a forgiving tide, the short catch of a breath.  You, who loved us, even before we were born, love us now, creating and re-creating us as your children…
We cling to this new promise.
 ‘Tell us,’ we say, ‘a story we know.’ 
‘Sing us,’ we say, ‘a song we remember.’”

May we encounter this day the One who woos us with song and story.  Amen.

Following the Story,

Rachel
#onestorycatcher

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on ““Tell us,” we say, “a story we know.”

  1. Lisa Fray

    Rachel,
    You told me to not be nervous for you, but to instead pray for you. I am praying this prayer and saying one for you…I’m so excited for your trip, and I can’t wait to see whats next. good Luck!!
    Love you,
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

